top of page
  • Writer's picturePastor Yolanda

God's Five Love Languages: Affirming Words

In the 1990s, a marriage counselor, Dr. Gary Chapman, offered a way to look at love and how we express it. His book, “The Five Love Languages,” has been helpful to many couples. 

I began to wonder how this language relates to our relationship with God. For the next five weeks, I will take each one of the love language categories and discuss it in terms of us, God, and our neighbor.

The first category in Chapman’s book is “words of affirmation.” The dictionary defines affirmation as the provision of emotional support. AsionayrChristians, and knowing God, we must extend this support to the whole human. Affirmation becomes support for the body, mind, soul, and spirit. We typically see words of support mainly in the offering of encouragement. “You can do it!” “I have faith in you!” “Go get ‘em, tiger!” What would this look like from a Christian context? There are many affirming words found in the bible.

  • Rom. 8: “You are my beloved child.”

  • Matthew 28:20b Look, I myself will be with you every day until the end of this present age.”

  • Isaiah 40:31 But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

There are hundreds more. Use these to steady, calm, and provide the encouragement you need to “keep, keep on.”

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page